Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

Thoroughly distracted

Leave a comment

Today was the first day after Daylight Savings Time ended for the year, and having the sun set an hour earlier cut into my beading time just as I suspected it would. I figured I’d better press ahead with another beading kit while there was still some light to work by. This time around, I chose to work on the Palisades Necklace. It looks fairly simple, but it ended up taking longer than I expected to complete.

Palisades necklace

The construction of the necklace is fairly straightforward: thread an eyepin through each bead and cut and bend it to form a second loop. Then use bits of chain to link the beads together. However, it takes time to bend nineteen eyepins. And those links of chain came as a single strand that had to be cut apart oh so carefully, lest you clip the wrong link and ruin a section. I dropped one section and nearly didn’t find it again—eek! This project did end up using all the beading tools I’d bought, so now I feel justified in having bought them! The one drawback to the project was that before I knew it, most of the (now shorter) afternoon had passed. So much for getting anything else done today.

I believe the beads are fluorite, although again, there’s nothing in the kit to identify them. It’s going to be a bit of a challenge to find a sweater that can set off all those shades, from almost white to deepest purple.

Leave a Reply

