Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

Twisted knitting

Leave a comment

Oh, the frustrations of doing a knitting blog in winter. I finished this scarf on New Year’s Day, but late in the day. I then had to wait until this weekend to take a picture because it’s just not light enough when I get home after work. But here we are, picture taken, and blogging merrily away.

Moebius scarf

This is a Möbius scarf. At least it’s meant to be a Möbius scarf. I think it may have twisted a bit too much, although I’m not sure how that happened. I made my first Möbius scarf back in 2002, using a pattern by Lisa R. Myers. This was just before Cat Bordhi’s Möbius scarves took off and I’m guessing Myers’ pattern got lost in the shuffle. I admit when I resurrected it to make this scarf, I used Bordhi’s cast-on. It’s faster, for one thing; since this particular scarf is 400 stitches around, that’s not inconsequential. Bordhi’s cast-on also blends into the finished scarf invisibly. Myers’ cast-on left a bit of a ridge. You can’t really see it unless you’re looking for it, and it’s not lumpy enough to be felt when wearing the scarf, so it’s not a big deal if you use it instead of Bordhi’s. But I think the extra twist in this scarf came from using Bordhi’s cast-on and I’m not sure when the extra twist crept in, so I’m not sure what to do to avoid it if I decide to make another Möbius scarf in the future.

recycling symbolWith the scarf folded this way, I keep thinking of the recycling logo. I like knitting projects like this that are just a little out of the ordinary in their construction. I need to tackle another Circumnavigated Cardigan again sometime (a sweater designed so that you don’t have to sew any seams together), or find someone who’s expecting and make one of Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Baby Surprise Jackets for the child.

Oh, and the yarn for this scarf was Lorna’s Laces Shepherd’s Worsted. Its major selling point is its softness: it’s a challenge to find yarn that’s soft enough to be worn directly against the skin. But I also love the wide color selection for this yarn and would like to find something besides Möbius scarves to use it in.

Leave a Reply

