Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

More fun with Möbius knitting

Leave a comment

While I was doing my level best to feed my knitting habit while not making any sweaters, I ended up knitting a series of smaller projects. This is the Harmonia’s Rings Cowl made from Malabrigo Merino Worsted (the color is Forest). I was delighted to finally have something I wanted to make that I could use a Malabrigo yarn for. I love the feel of the yarn, but I haven’t trusted it to hold up with heavy use. But surely a cowl won’t be subject to much friction.

Harmonia's Rings Cowl

Harmonia's Rings Cowl

This project has a slightly more distinguished pedigree in my personal history than most projects I tackle. The first time I ever saw it was when Cat Bordhi was wearing it at a Yarnover a few years ago. So yes, the HRC is based on the Möbius strip. Unlike my last Möbius scarf, this time I didn’t get too many twists into the cast-on (yay!). You work the HRC from the top down. It starts out as a bit of Möbius knitting while you build up the bit around the neck. You then “break” the Möbius strip and rejoin, now working in the round like usual, increasing at intervals to allow it to spill down over the shoulders.

Harmonia's Rings Cowl - picots

A close-up of the beaded picot edge.

This is the first time I’ve done any beaded knitting. The top edge of the HRC is a line of beaded picots. The pattern says to use seed beads and a size 14 crochet hook to get them on the yarn. No, I wasn’t foresighted enough to have a size 14 crochet hook on hand when I reached the picots. I did have a size 10 hook which was small enough to fit through the beads, but it was too large to pull the yarn back through. My solution was to loop a length of dental floss around the yarn. I pulled the dental floss through the bead with the size 10 hook and then pulled on the floss to bring the yarn itself through.

It’s been working pretty well as a cowl. The designer says that you can pull it up over your head, but I think my neck is too long or something since when I tried that, it felt strained and awkward. It’s quite warm and the wool is soft enough not to bother me when it touches bare skin. And I really like the design itself. It hugs the neck so that cold air doesn’t get in, and since it’s not one of those loose, drapey cowls, it doesn’t dangle in my way when I lean forward. Now if I could just suppress my urge to get it all straightened out—impossible where a Möbius is concerned!

Leave a Reply

