Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

Yarnover 2013

6 Comments

Yarnover was this past Saturday, April 27. Well, it might be more accurate to say that Yarnover was Friday night and all day Saturday, but I’ve never gone to the dinner with the teachers on Friday night, so it’s still just a Saturday event for me. (And it’s just as well I didn’t go to the dinner this year, as I probably would have drifted off to sleep in the dessert.) Other years, the weather during Yarnover has been horrid, like all-day cold rain. It makes running out to the car to drop stuff off unpleasant, but it’s perfect weather for staying inside all day and knitting. This year, the weather was gorgeous, and on top of that, it was only about the second day of gorgeous, seasonal weather this year. It was a good thing I was in a windowless room for my morning class and sat with my back to the windows for my afternoon one.

The loot.

The loot.

The general loot this year included a bottle of Soak wool wash—your choice of Celebrate scent or unscented—and a travel mug that announces to all viewers, “I Knit, Therefore I Am.” No bag this year. Not that I need still yet another bag, but this was a lesson in the importance of never assuming anything. The bag I’d brought was stuffed full of the things I needed for the day, but I’d brought along a second bag just in case, and it proved necessary.

I found my first class, “Knitting Happily Ever After: Ergonomics for Knitters,” both educational and depressing. Don’t get me wrong: Carson Demers was an enthusiastic and positive teacher. I give him full credit for the “educational” part of my description and no blame for the “depressing,” because that would be my reaction to the topic no matter who was teaching it. I don’t deal well with the fact that an activity I enjoy so thoroughly (two of them, actually, since crochet has its hazards as well—okay, three, if you add in most things computery) can damage me. It was disheartening to go through his checklist of risk factors and add up how many of them applied to me, some of which could be worked on (diet, exercise), and some of which were basically immutable (being female, and in a few years, being over 50). And despite the fact that the entire point of this class was to learn how to do something about this and be proactive, I couldn’t shake the thought that maybe it wouldn’t be enough, that one day all the good posture, rest breaks, exercises, and so on simply won’t compensate. In the meantime, though, I now know a simple way to arrange a towel to nudge your back into a healthier configuration when you’re stuck sitting in a folding chair for the better part of three hours. No, the irony of holding a class on ergonomics in a room furnished only with folding chairs has not escaped me.

My afternoon class was “Top Down Shawl Workshop for Intermediate/Advanced” with Stephen West. Another enthusiastic and positive teacher—whee! I now have a better idea of how different numbers of increases can shape the angles in a piece of knitting, plus I also know how too many purl-side yarnovers on top of each other can distort a shawl. But the part the class couldn’t teach me and which I’ll have to get to on my own was how to trigger my creativity enough to get an idea for a top-down shawl in the first place, an idea that I could then make real.

Beyond the classes, Yarnover is an excellent opportunity to acquire yarn, and yes, I did pick up a few skeins. I’d had my eye on fingering yarn dyed in a continuous gradient already, and was thrilled to discover it at Yarnover. I was even more thrilled when I got home and compared it to the online source I’d been thinking to try. The yarn I’d gotten at Yarnover was $10 cheaper per ball, and had more yardage! My other yarn purchase was two hanks of Tosh Light Merino for a project (Barndom) I decided on while in Stephen West’s class. I dunno…they’re beautiful hanks of soft fingering yarn, but there are many beautiful fingering yarns out there, and I don’t get why these are so special that everyone murmurs reverentially, “Ooh, MadelineTosh…”

Afterwards, Suncat and I went out to dinner. I am certain that the sushi and ice cream we enjoyed at Yumi’s and Licks Unlimited in Excelsior was as excellent a meal as the Friday night dinner with the teachers, and a tad less crowded. But only a tad—nothing like a beautiful warm evening to lure people out for ice cream.

6 thoughts on “Yarnover 2013

  1. Love the Madeline Tosh!

    Like

  2. The gradient yarn is gorgeous! I have had my eye on some too:) What will you be making with it?

    Like

    • I don’t have a specific project in mind yet, but they’re both likely to become shawlettes. I’m leaning towards a top-down or bottom-up design, rather than a side-to-side one, and one that’s more solid than really open and lacy, all to show the colors off better. But we’ll see. What are you going to make with yours when you get it? This vendor also sold matching pairs of 50 g balls for socks, which I thought was a wonderful idea.

      Like

Leave a Reply

