Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

Shepherd’s Harvest 2013

5 Comments

On Saturday, Suncat and I made our annual pilgrimage out to Lake Elmo for this year’s Shepherd’s Harvest Sheep and Wool Festival/Llama Magic. This year’s weather was sunshine accompanied by blustery wind and occasional bursts of rain and sleet. Eventually they started shutting the large garage door-style openings to the barns because the wind was just too strong, and we were left with little people-sized doors to use. I suspect that Mother’s Day weekend is simply too early for an event that’s held in unheated barns, but after this many years, I’m sure they’re committed to this weekend. And it certainly makes it easy to remember when it is, year after year.

The temperature aside, it was a great day. We got there in time for lunch, which was held in the only warm building on the fairgrounds. They feature lamb burgers and lamb brats on their menu, and I always find it a little jarring to remember that Shepherd’s Harvest is about sheep raised for meat as well as sheep raised for wool. But as I write this, it’s occurring to me that I didn’t see much about the edible side of the sheep industry this year beyond what was on the menu. Perhaps they’ve learned over the years that this crowd is mainly here for the wool (and the alpaca, the angora, the cashmere…).

Another excellent selection of yarn this year. Some of the vendors had been at Yarnover. I’d stared at their yarn then, and then had a couple of weeks to think about what I really wanted before having another shot at it at Shepherd’s Harvest. And then I ended up buying other yarn altogether. Plus fudge. (I really must learn how to make fudge in flavors other than chocolate!)

yarn

Loot of the day. (Fudge not pictured.)

Shepherd’s Harvest shares the weekend and the space with Llama Magic. Llama Magic is a bit out of the way on the fairgrounds, and when we got there, we were surprised to see even more vendors. In the olden days, there were a few items for sale at Llama Magic, but now it’s basically a fourth vending barn, in addition to the three that Shepherd’s Harvest has. By the time we got to Llama Magic, I finally remembered that I had my phone with me and could take pictures:

llamas

Llamas, posing for the camera

crias

Crias, looking cute

And eventually our energy faded and we wandered away to dinner.

5 thoughts on “Shepherd’s Harvest 2013

  1. What is the non-Wildfoote yarn? Very pretty — do you have a plan for it?

    Maybe once I get my new hip I will have the endurance to walk — Shepherd’s Harvest, 2014 🙂

    Like

    • It’s Colorflow from Blackberry Ridge. A single hank officially weighs 7.5 ounces and has 420 yards, gradually dyed through the length of the yarn. But someone handwrote on the label of my hank that it weighs 8.6 ounces (or something like that), so I may actually have 491 yards to play with. I don’t have definitive plans for it yet, but I want to make something in one piece that will show the color changes off—maybe a vest or a shawl.

      I fully expect to see you or hear of your adventures at Shepherd’s Harvest next year. 🙂

      Like

  2. I bought fudge too. Amaretto.

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

