Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

Cowl of impulse

3 Comments

So there I was, hearing report after report about how life-threatening, record-breaking cold was about to descend in two days. In the meantime, though, I decided to spend part of the last comparatively warm day at my LYS, mostly because I needed a bit of distraction. Plus, I’d heard they’d totally revamped the place since I was last there, and I wanted to investigate.

Now usually I only have eyes for the yarn and I’m oblivious to the store models, but on this day for whatever reason, I noticed they had this cowl knitted up. I may have been more sensitive than usual to this sort of thing because of that predicted life-threatening cold. I’m sure it triggered an ancient survival instinct at the base of my brain which nudged me to seek out additional insulation. Whatever the reason, the cowl called: the thick, super-bulky singles yarn satisfied the survival instinct, while the promise of pretty colors and soft, squishy texture tickled my aesthetic sense. The pattern was free on Ravelry, so all I had to do is pick out a skein of the yarn. This is how I ended up heading home with a skein of Malabrigo Rasta rather than the skein of fingering-weight yarn that I thought most likely to tempt me.

RastaCowl

I managed to put the yarn away for all of eight hours before the survival instinct resurfaced, hinting that it’d be really great to have the cowl ready to wear when the polar vortex hit. This set a new record for me for the shortest time elapsed between learning of a pattern’s existence and starting it. I had an “uh-oh” moment when I realized I’d never checked the needle size on the pattern when I was at the LYS, and that no, I didn’t own the 16″ size 15 (40 cm, 10 mm) needle called for. But the cowl was just big enough to knit on a 24″ (60 cm) needle, and suddenly I’d justified last summer’s purchase of a pair of size 15 needle tips which I wasn’t sure I’d ever use (!). Once past that hurdle, the knitting itself was easy and I had it finished about 24 hours after I cast on.

The cowl went with me to work. I can report it did a fine job of defending me against the chilly temperatures of my office. Yay, impulse knitting!

3 thoughts on “Cowl of impulse

  1. That’s a pretty cool looking cowl. 😀

    Like

  2. Lovely and functional – you can’t go wrong!

    I made a super warm cowl after searching Ravelry for a pattern because I wanted to use a yarn I had purchased on impulse … I used that cowl during the polar vortex … Inverse impulse but the same result 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

