Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

A couple of cowls

2 Comments

I continue to be fascinated by small, quick-to-finish projects. Not only do I have the satisfaction of, well, finishing things quickly, but I’m convinced I can see my stash diminishing before my eyes. That is, when I’m not seeing it increase before my eyes (ooh, new yarn catalog…ack, stop it!).

Chromantic Cowl

Chromantic Cowl

It was love at first sight when I saw the Chromantic Cowl in a recent KnitPicks catalog. It probably would have been love if it had been a knitted cowl or if it had been a sweater, because what I fell in love with was the monochromatic color shading. I spent half an hour or so one afternoon plotting out various colorways I could make: pink, gray, blue, reddish-purple, bluish-purple, green. Obviously the first one I tried was pink. KnitPicks’ model is pink as well, but theirs used both warm and cool pinks and I wanted to stick with cool pinks as much as possible. I did have to use one warm pink, and the transition from light to dark wasn’t as seamless as I could have hoped, but I’m happy with the results. The pattern makes both a short cowl and a long one. That’s the long one you’re seeing, but I have more than enough yarn remaining to make a short one, and I might do so, just to see what it’s like. If you have several similar shades of fingering weight yarn on hand, this would be a fine project to use up some leftover yarn.

The crocheting went well enough. The body is done in granite stitch and the contrast color trim is reverse single crochet. I’ve decided reverse single crochet is much nicer to look at than to do—crocheting from left to right is unnatural! Every time I crochet something, I’m reminded that I really do like it, and again, I’m vowing to do more of it in the future.

HRingsCowlGray

Harmonia’s Rings Cowl

But back to knitting now, for a Harmonia’s Rings Cowl. Not many surprises here: I’d been planning to make a gray one even as I was buying the yarn for the brown one recently, and I did. It’s soft, snuggly, and warm, just as expected. As with the brown one, I skipped the beads and the picot bind off, and I don’t miss them this time either. Even though I used the same yarn as I did for the brown one, there wasn’t enough yarn to add an extra pattern repeat at the bottom, which was a bit of a disappointment. (Drat—more leftovers!) But that makes it no less wonderful, and I look forward to wearing it soon.

—–

Chromantic Cowl
Yarn: KnitPicks Palette
Colors (dark to light): Regal, Mauve, Cotton Candy, Blossom Heather, Blush

Harmonia’s Rings Cowl
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted
Color: 009 Polar Morn

2 thoughts on “A couple of cowls

  1. You are making me think I need to make a Harmonia’s Ring cowl. Right after I knit the three (four?) sweaters I have the yarn for…

    But yours is soooo nice!

    Like

    • Unless you are a monogamous knitter, why not knit both a sweater and a cowl? The HRC only takes me about two weeks to knit, and it’ll be portable from start to finish, whereas a sweater might hit the “too large to carry around” stage.

      Like

Leave a Reply

