Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

2014 Knitting and Crochet Blog Week—Day 7: Looking Back, Looking Forward

Leave a comment

Day Seven (Sunday 18th May): Looking Back, Looking Forward
If you took part in last year’s Knitting & Crochet Blog Week, look back on your Day Seven post. Did any of the techniques, ideas and hopes for the last 12 months that you wrote about at that time ever make it onto the hook or needles? Did anyone cast on and complete the project researched in last year’s Day 2 post?

And there is also time to look forward again: One year from now, when the 6th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried? Do you have any wishes for your blogging that you’d like to follow?

Wedge Pullover: collar

Wedge Pullover: collar

None of last year’s goals worked out as hoped. I dropped out of the Year of the Stash when I realized I wasn’t having any fun. I did finish 18 projects though, which was a noticeable increase from the year before, and I’m thrilled. Also last year, I said that I wanted to redesign and knit the Wedge Pullover. The redesign has been working out. I changed it from a V-neck pullover with drop sleeves to a crewneck pullover with modified drop sleeves. But in knitting it, I wasn’t thrilled with the results. The fabric was unpleasantly loose and the short rows had distorted some of the stitches. I didn’t like what I’d knitted, but I didn’t really want to reknit it either, so the pieces ended up abandoned in my closet. I pulled them out recently when I realized that Knitting and Crochet Blog Week was coming up. While I was ignoring it, I think the yarn relaxed a bit, as it had in the gauge swatch. The fabric feels fuller, which I like. As for the misshapen stitches, I’m planning on finishing the sweater and then washing it right away. I think that will even out the stitches better than steam blocking alone did. So I’ve sewn the shoulder seams and knitted the collar, and the next step is to cast on the sleeves.

My goals for the next year are a mite vague. I want to knit at least one sweater, and not just an endless succession of scarves, cowls, and shawlettes. Tackling a Fair Isle sweater would make a dent in my stash, I bet, but I’m not committing myself to that. I still want to do more crochet, although there aren’t any more crochet projects in my queue than last year. (Oops.) As for this blog, I want to improve it, but I’m not sure how, which makes for a vague goal. Next year, if I think I’ve made it better (in some yet-to-be-determined way), I’ll be sure to tell you!

Leave a Reply

