Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

So close!

4 Comments

Still on a small projects kick, I decided to knit another Damson shawlette. This was going to be a no-brainer. I’ve made two Damsons already, and I was using a yarn I’d used before for this pattern. Off I went with a nice, near-mindless project that would use up a tiny fraction of my stash.

I ran out of yarn 4 rows before the end.

Damson shawlette on needle.

I blame this particular hank of yarn for being a little short. It’s advertised as being 4 ounces (113.4 g), but weighing my hank, I get 110 g (3.9 oz.). That 3% difference was enough to, well, not be enough. It’s a painful reminder to weigh your yarn before starting a project, especially when you’re only using one skein. Although now I have further evidence for my hypothesis that if you’ve only used 45% or less of your yarn when you finish the garter stitch section, you’ll have enough left to finish the shawlette. I’d used 50% of this hank for the garter stitch section. But this isn’t the way I wanted to test said hypothesis.

I do have options:

  1. Rip the whole thing out and reknit it one needle size smaller.
    • Pro: I’ll have a shawlette!
    • Con: I’ll have a shawlette that’s smaller. I don’t want it any smaller.
  2. Finish the edge with a different yarn.
    • Pro: I’ll have a shawlette!
    • Con: I want the focus on the body of the shawlette, not the edge, and if the edge is in a different color, it may draw attention to itself. Also, I don’t have any yarn on hand that would match unless I break into an unopened hank, which I just don’t want to do, even if it’s only for a few yards.
  3. Rip the whole thing out and use the yarn for a different project.
    • Pro: I’ll have a project (shawlette? cowl? scarf?) that I actually like.
    • Con: I won’t have this shawlette, and there went all those hours of knitting.

I’m leaning towards #3 because it’s occurred to me to try a Damson in heavier yarn and see if I like it being bigger and warmer. Dream in Color offers the same colorways in their worsted weight yarn that they do in their fingering weight, or I could play with any of the other great yarns out there. And wouldn’t that be better than a Damson that was merely adequate?

Meanwhile, I’ve started a cowl to console myself. Hmph.

—–

The Damson That Wasn’t
Yarn: Smooshy by Dream in Color
Color: Cool Fire
Needle: 5 (3.75 mm)

4 thoughts on “So close!

  1. There’s something intensely poetic about the phrase: “started a cowl to console myself”

    Like

Leave a Reply

