Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

2014 by the numbers

4 Comments

I had fun analyzing my crafts last year, so I decided to inflict more craft data on you again this year. I finished nine projects in 2014. That doesn’t seem like a lot, but hey, Viajante took time. Lots of time.

First, the dominant color in my projects, by number of projects. I did three small- to medium-sized projects in gray, and Viajante, despite its size, was only one project, which is why it looks like I knit more in gray than pink (not so!). But I’m not obsessed enough to start counting how many yards of yarn in each color I used, so this is as good as it gets.

Pie chart of dominant colors in projects.

I’m surprised brown made a return appearance, but I did knit a brown cowl for someone. (All my brown projects are for other people.) But how did I manage to avoid doing any purple projects this year? Even the two projects I frogged were pink.

2014-crafts

Only one crochet project in 2014. Well, maybe I can do two in 2015. We’ll overlook the fact that there aren’t even very many crochet projects in my Ravelry queue.

But surely there was more data I could analyze—only two charts seemed a bit too succinct. Hey, I could look at yarn weight!

2014-yarnweight

That was a bit eye-opening. I feel like I knit almost exclusively with fingering weight yarn nowadays, but there’s a fair variety of weights in that chart. Okay, the lace weight yarn was held doubled and treated like fingering weight, but it was lace weight.

On to 2015!

4 thoughts on “2014 by the numbers

  1. Hooray for pie charts!

    Like

  2. That’s interesting that you have analysed by yarn weight. As I was going through possible projects recently I discovered that I find the most attractive projects the ones made with finer yarns like sock yarn. I am now trying to reconcile this with the dismay that the finer the yarn, the longer it takes to complete the project! What to do!

    Like

    • In theory, we all love knitting, and so as long as we’re knitting, it shouldn’t matter how long it takes to finish the project, right? Ha. Yeah, I’d like to try a sweater in fine yarn someday, but I’m afraid I’d die of old age before I ever got to wear it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

