Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

Lupine Scarf

4 Comments

Back again! I’ve been out of writing commission for a while because of NaNoWriMo; if I was going to write anything in November, it seemed I should be working on my story. This also meant I wasn’t knitting as much. But now it’s December, the writing has gone down, the knitting has gone up, and I’m finally getting around to mentioning that I finished a scarf in October. Mid-October. Okay, fine, if I’d gotten my act together, I could’ve blogged about it before NaNoWriMo started. I didn’t. Let’s move on.

Lupine Scarf draped on a railing.

This is the Lupine Scarf. It’s named after the colorway of the yarn. The only other name I could think of for it was “Lacy Scarf” and that seemed a bit vague. And what would I call any other lacy scarf I might make in the future?

This is one of my rare forays into designing something rather than using someone else’s pattern. It was inspired by several things. I’d enjoyed making my two Fortune’s Shawlettes and I wanted to try something with a similar openwork pattern, but knitted. I considered the Sonoma Valley Scarf. But it’s designed for a sequential colorway, which is what Chroma Fingering had when that pattern was written. Since then, though, Chroma has gone to a mirrored repeat. So I decided to try making a “normal” rectangular scarf—for some reason I almost never go for that.

Lupine Scarf being worn.There were a few misadventures, like trying to find a properly stretchy cast on. I eventually gave up and used a large crochet hook to make a chained cast on that wasn’t remotely stretchy, but was long enough to match the width of the scarf body. I used the Vertical Lace Trellis stitch for the scarf itself, which I found by browsing through Barbara G. Walker’s A Treasury of Knitting Patterns. Yes, I actually used a stitch reference book—they take up room in the bookcase, and I do so little designing that I keep wondering if I can justify holding onto them. Yes, I can.

When I reached the last part of the ball, I realized that 100 g of Chroma Fingering doesn’t allow that that mirrored color sequence to come out evenly. I decided to make the scarf perfectly symmetrical, which meant stopping with 12 g of yarn still to go. The scarf is plenty long for wearing; I’m just annoyed because I don’t like wasting yarn.

Wearing the scarf has been great. It warms my neck, it stays put (unlike so many of my shawlettes, alas), and so far I haven’t dragged the ends through anything. Not bad for a free ball of yarn and an improvised pattern.

—–

Lupine Scarf
Pattern: personal
Yarn: KnitPicks Chroma Fingering
Color: Lupine
Needles: 9 (5.5 mm)
Hook: 7.0 mm (for cast on)

4 thoughts on “Lupine Scarf

  1. It turned out great – wonderful combo of color and pattern 🙂

    Like

  2. Pretty scarf! Stretchy cast-on: https://youtu.be/iTIBTm0QL6A. I use that one all the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

