Silver Threads

a knitting blog with occasional side trips

The Tahoe Scarf and how I got it

4 Comments

Last fall, I had an extra ball of Chroma Fingering on hand and no plans for it, so I invented a scarf pattern and knitted it. And lo, the Lupine Scarf came into existence. I thought it turned out well, and I’ve enjoyed wearing it, so I decided to make another one. A scarf that takes just one skein of fingering weight yarn is a great project for stash-busting. At least if your stash is filled with lone 100 g skeins of fingering weight yarn. Mine is.

I went with a skein of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, a noticeably different yarn from Chroma. Chroma is a single ply yarn with long mirrored color repeats. Shepherd Sock is a plied yarn, much smoother than Chroma, with short color repeats. Both Chroma and Shepherd Sock are wool/nylon blends, but Shepherd Sock is a lot more like string than Chroma is, so I’m hoping I can wear this scarf comfortably in the summer, at least in air-conditioned buildings.

And lo, the Tahoe Scarf came into existence:

Tahoe Scarf draped across a bench.

Having made this scarf twice now, I figured I should write down what I was doing. Although “pattern” seems like a grandiose term for the following. This is more like a collection of suggestions on one way to knit a scarf.

Vertical Lace Trellis Scarf*

Materials: 100 g of fingering weight yarn.

Or thereabouts. This is one of those “knit until the scarf is as long as you want it” things. And while I’m using fingering weight yarn, I suspect you could use other weights just as well, either heavier or lighter, although I don’t know how much yarn you’d need then.

Gauge: ?

For both the Lupine Scarf and the Tahoe Scarf, I used needles larger than you usually use with fingering weight yarn and played around until I got fabric that stretched a lot but still had some structure to it. To put it another way, there’s a point at which if a needle or hook is way too big for the yarn, I feel like I’m losing control of it, and I hold onto yarn and needles/hook alike with a death grip so that I don’t drop it all on the floor. This makes knitting or crocheting uncomfortable. For this scarf, I use the needle size that’s one size smaller than the one at which I’d go into death grip mode.

Cast on an odd number of sts.

How many stitches? It depends on how wide you want your scarf to be. For the Lupine Scarf, I cast on 41 stitches. But although both Chroma Fingering and Shepherd Sock are fingering weight, Shepherd Sock is a lighter yarn. I ended up going down a needle size to get a good gauge on it (to avoid the death grip!), and I increased the number of stitches to 43 to make up for that.

When you cast on for lace, you’re advised to choose a stretchy cast on. I had trouble finding one that was stretchy enough. I finally tried a different approach. The chained cast on is a crochet cast on that isn’t all that stretchy. (You may know it better as the provisional cast on, but when I’m planning on keeping it, it’s hardly provisional.)  I made up for the lack of stretch by using a crochet hook that was noticeably larger than the needles I was going to use. So the cast on doesn’t stretch, but it’s wide enough that it doesn’t need to.

Rows 1 and 3: (WS) Purl.

Row 2: (RS) K1, *yo, K2 tog; rep from * to end of row.

Row 4: *SSK, yo; rep from * to last st, k1.

Repeat these 4 rows until the scarf is as long as you want it. Bind off loosely enough that it doesn’t pull in when you stretch the scarf to its full width. Block ferociously.

With the Lupine Scarf, I wanted to make the colors come out evenly, so I ended up finishing off the scarf well before I’d run out of yarn. With the Shepherd Sock, I was able to knit until the end of the skein. Plus, my skein weighed 111 g instead of the standard 100 g, so I had an extra 48 yards or so (44 m) of yarn to work with. After blocking, it measured 16″ x 75″ (41 x 191 cm). It’ll probably shrink a bit as it relaxes, but that’s still plenty of scarf to wear.

*I found the Vertical Lace Trellis stitch in Barbara Walker’s A Treasury of Knitting Patterns, finally justifying my keeping it all these years.

—–

Tahoe Scarf
Pattern: Vertical Lace Trellis Scarf (!)
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock
Color: Tahoe
Needles: 8 (5.0 mm)
Hook: J (6.0 mm) (for cast on)

4 thoughts on “The Tahoe Scarf and how I got it

  1. Quite lovely! I use this very stretchy cast-on for nearly everything: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTIBTm0QL6A
    It looks particularly good with 1×1 or 2×2 ribbing, but is versatile enough for anything. The only downside is that it only works for an even number of stitches; I get around that when I need to by inserting one backwards loop cast-on somewhere in the middle.

    Like

  2. I love how you have come up with your own solution to the single-skein project problem and turned it into the perfect project. That blue colour is so vivid and attractive.

    Like

    • Thank you! That’s a yarn that knitted up much more attractively than it looked in the hank. It’s hard to tell from the picture (yes, I’m in the market for a new camera), but there are splashes of purple and blue-green in all that blue.

      It’s a fun almost-pattern. I may make it still yet again if I find the right yarn for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

